Frequently Asked Questions
Why does the record provide only the last 4 digits of the Social Security Number?
FDLE does not release Social Security Number information for searches from the public using our Internet service. The Social Security Numbers will be suppressed from the record check results, in accordance with s. 119.071(5), Florida Statutes. To assist the customer, we do release the last four digits of the Social Security Number. EXAMPLE: XXX-XX-1234.
How do I determine which record most likely applies to my inquiry?
Review the possible matches individually, by evaluating all of the demographic information that is available. You should begin by looking at the complete name, sex, race, date of birth, SSN and any other identifiers that may be present, such as alias name, additional dates of birth or SSN, height, weight, eye, and hair color. Do not assume that the possible hit will always be the first or second search candidate.
The Search Results Page displays the possible matches to the search criteria that you have entered. The result of the search could indicate that no record was found on the subject, that a single subject matched the search criteria, or that there were multiple possible matches.
If there was no record found, there is no criminal history on file for the subject (based on the information provided). No additional charges apply beyond the $24.00 fee. If a single match occurred, the subject's criminal history will be returned. No additional charges apply beyond the $24.00 fee. If more than one record matched the search criteria, you will be presented with a choice of up to five candidates that matched. You will then select the record(s) you would like to receive. The criminal record for one selected candidate is included in the $24.00 fee. Should you elect to receive records on more than one candidate, you will be charged an additional $24.00 for each candidate you select.
When you get to the Selection Criteria page, you may select the record(s) you would like to receive by clicking the Display History button next to the subject. Only subjects that are selected will be displayed once you click the Display History button.
Why am I charged $24 if my search returned no results?
You are being charged $24.00 for the process of FDLE performing the search. The required fields for the search criteria are name, race, sex, and date of birth (or approximate age) of the subject. The accuracy of the information you provide is critical to the search results since we search our records based on your submission information. Once you submit the search, your credit card will be charged $24.00, regardless of the search result.
Why did my search return no results?
Reasons why this may occur are as follows:
- Subject has never been arrested or fingerprinted for a serious offense in Florida
- Subject's Florida record is sealed or expunged
- Subject's criminal fingerprint card was sent to FDLE but it contained a major error, has not been received by FDLE or not yet entered into repository
- Arresting agency never submitted criminal fingerprint card to FDLE
- Subject's criminal fingerprint card was sent to the FBI but not to FDLE (Arrests prior to 1983, two fingerprint cards were supposed to be submitted from local criminal justice agencies; one to the FBI and the other to FDLE)
- Subject was taken into custody as a juvenile for an offense that would be a misdemeanor if committed by an adult
- Subject was arrested by a Federal agency or in a state other than Florida (NCIC rules do not allow dissemination of national or other state criminal history information for public record/non-criminal justice purposes)
How can I be sure that the results I received from the search are for the subject I am interested in?
Unless a fingerprint card is submitted, it is impossible to be sure if the record is on the subject or if someone else has a similar name and/or identifiers. The accuracy of the information you provide is critical since we search our records based on your submission information.
Who do I contact if I have questions about my search?
If you have any questions regarding a search, please contact the FDLE Criminal History Services Section at (850) 410-8109. Our office hours are 8:00 A.M. - 5:00 P.M. EST Monday - Friday (excluding holidays).
How can I do a criminal history search if I do not have a credit card?
If you do not have a credit card you may simply send a letter or print out, complete and mail the criminal history information request form (PDF) provided on this web site, along with a check or money order for $24.00 to:
Florida Department of Law Enforcement
User Services Bureau
Criminal History Services
PO Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302